Summary

Updated 28/05/20

IRD's operations cover a range of activities : partnership research, scientific co-publications with researchers from the intertropical and Mediterranean zone and support for research teams from these countries, provision of expertise and advice, participation in the International Development Agenda, and so on. In all its actions, the Institute ensures that its interdisciplinary, intersectoral and multi-partner strategy is complemented by excellence in disciplinary science.

Lengguru 2014 : Exploration des fonds marins

© Régis Hocdé/IRD

Our missions

IRD's principal mission is to generate science centred on the intertropical and Mediterranean zone and founded on equitable scientific partnership with the higher education and research communities (ESR) of the countries and regions concerned.

This mission has a dual purpose:

  • Contributing to advances in scientific knowledge in matters of sustainable development 
  • Helping to give development policies a better grounding in science.

 

Cutting-edge scientific research

 The IRD is a leading international player in scientific research on sustainable development and global issues [Scientific rigour and excellence];

The research carried out at IRD is structured around major areas linked to global issues (global warming, environmental changes, inequalities, resource crisis, etc.):

 

Equitable partnerships, built on shared objectives and resources

Woven into the fabric of French research via joint research units with universities and public research institutions, IRD maintains close contact with the French scientific community.

IRD's involvement in the French research arena continues to grow, using new tools that guide the coordination of ESR actors on key areas: alliances and investments for the future.

Through its missions and expertise, the Institute has the capacity to rally scientific communities around sustainable development challenges and build bridges between research and development.

IRD thus helps scientific communities emerge in developing countries, strengthening and empowering them while also bringing them international recognition, through actions aligned with a resolute commitment to the strategy of partnership and equitable cooperation.

By activating or encouraging the creation of coalitions of actors, IRD paves the way for its partners to tackle development challenges and helps them plan solutions.

In each of its domains, the Institute strives to bring science to fuel international reflection on pressing issues, while calling on research actors to support the institutions concerned.

The IRD acts by advocating and tirelessly implementing this principle of equitable scientific partnership.

 

Sharing knowledge 

Another intrinsic part of research activity is the dissemination of scientific information and the sharing of knowledge. These play a key role in advancing the competencies of scientific communities, and enhancing citizens' capacity to face the multiple challenges of sustainable development.

IRD is vigorously committed to the "Open Science" policy, driven by France and the European Union. Free access to information is a priority for IRD and its partners in developing countries. 

The Institute believes that knowledge sharing means actively contributing to the dialogue between science and society. It therefore organises science events and exhibitions, presenting them throughout the world via the French cultural network. It also participates in flagship events, holds conferences, debates and workshops, puts on film screenings and provides innovative educational tools for young people in France and in partner countries of the Global South. 

Lastly, the online scientific news platform IRD Le Mag provides another way to share knowledge with society, through news articles, dossiers, debates, reports, etc. on the publications of IRD researchers and their partners. This is truly science "in the making", as close as possible to current events in the labs and on the field.

 

Promotion and innovation

IRD collaborates with all public and private actors working on sustainable development issues, through a research approach based on co-creation: a process that seeks to change lifestyles or economic models.

The Institute thus acts as a driving force for open and responsible innovation, stimulating the innovation ecosystems of developing countries.

Promotion of research is a key part of all IRD's missions, and takes the following shape:
 

  • intellectual property and economic development strategies specific to research;
  • long-term public-private partnerships;
  • tools and mechanisms that encourage, facilitate and assist co-creation;
  • open and responsible innovations, founded on interaction with the Institute's partners.
Lengguru 201 : Fonds marins de Papouasie occidentale

© Régis Hocdé/IRD

Notre ambition

Scientific excellence in partnership

IRD conducts research in around fifty countries throughout the intertropical zone – across Africa, Latin America, Asia, Oceania – and Mediterranean regions, operating in equitable scientific partnership with the research institutions of these countries.

One of IRD's objectives is to build the ESR (Higher Education for Research) capacities of its partner countries.

This serves a dual purpose: to contribute to advances in universal science, and to meet the needs of the countries' populations, particularly the most vulnerable ones.

IRD is at the forefront of international science, collaboratively producing rigorous scientific material that informs decision-makers and fuels public policies. 

 

Leading the way in sustainable development science and its key issues

IRD takes an original approach to research, expertise, training and knowledge-sharing for the benefit of countries and regions, making science and innovation key drivers in their development.

IRD sets its priorities in line with the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), combining operations with critical analysis.

Adopted by the United Nations in September 2015, Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) guide policies concerning sustainable development and the key issues facing us today: global, environmental, economic, social and cultural changes that affect the planet as a whole.

IRD aligns its operations with the Sustainable Development Goals. This is particularly reflected in the structure and aims of its research approach: a partnership with the countries of the intertropical and Mediterranean zone. One aspect that IRD strives to emphasise is the importance of scientifically examining the interactions and/or trade-offs between SDGs.

 

  • Science is at the very source of SDGs; without science, there is no way to apprehend the complex chains of cause-and-effect that affect the dynamics of the planetary system and the well-being of populations.
  • SDGs cannot be attained without the science that enables the emergence of "win/win" solutions and innovations to tackle global changes.
  • Although SDGs are universal, the priorities for implementing them differ according to the level of development and realities of each region.
  • In developing countries, particularly in Africa, it is essential to build capacities for higher education and research systems. The reason is twofold: not only must these countries achieve the overall advances in knowledge required to take on SDGs, they must also ensure they have sufficient expertise of their own to successfully implement them.

 

IRD's strategic priorities are thus structured around SDG implementation and critical analysis.

The IRD therefore promotes interdisciplinary coordination and intersectoral scientific approaches to SDGs, for instance through seminal, interdisciplinary scientific partnership programmes (PSIP).

 

IRD, a driving force for change : enhancing the impact of research

Without appropriate solutions, without relevant technological drivers, without grounded innovations, there is no hope of attaining the SDGs.

Enhancing the impact of research in countries of the Global South is part of IRD's core strategy of equitable scientific partnership, an approach founded on the co-construction of programmes and on a spirit of responsibility and accountability towards developing countries.

The Institute's commitment to a responsible innovation process is fuelled by growing awareness of its contribution to the emergence of "common" goods. Indeed, the Institute’s researchers have a long history in this area, participating in the protection of local "commons" in the Global South (forests, water resources, soils, biodiversity hot spots) and creating a considerable number of "information commons".

Consequently, responsible innovation and commons theory encourage IRD to adopt an approach that promotes differentiated solutions adapted to local contexts for its commercial exploitation activities.

In terms of training, the objective is also to develop actions in conjunction with partners, with a view to training future researchers in key sustainable development topics and contributing to the creation of networks of research lecturers and researchers in the Global South.

Sommaire

Mis à jour le 28/05/20

L’action de l’IRD mêle recherche partenariale, co-publications scientifiques avec les chercheurs des pays de la zone intertropicale et méditerranéenne et appui aux équipes de recherche de ces pays, expertise, participation à l’Agenda international du développement… en veillant à la complémentarité entre approche interdisciplinaire, intersectorielle et multipartenaire, et excellence de la science disciplinaire.

Lengguru 2014 : Exploration des fonds marins

© Régis Hocdé/IRD

Nos missions

La mission première de l’IRD est de produire de la science focalisée sur la zone intertropicale et méditerranéenne et fondée sur un partenariat scientifique équitable avec les communautés d’enseignement supérieur et de recherche (ESR) des pays et régions concernés.

Cette mission correspond à un double objectif :

  • Contribuer aux avancées de la connaissance scientifique en matière de développement durable 
  • Aider à mieux fonder les politiques de développement sur la science.

 

Une recherche scientifique d'excellence

 

L'IRD est acteur international de référence en matière de recherche scientifique pour le développement et sur les enjeux globaux  [Exigence et excellence scientifiques] ;

Les recherches menées à l’IRD se construisent autour de grandes thématiques liées aux enjeux globaux (réchauffement climatique, changements environnementaux, inégalités, crise des ressources…) :

 

Des partenariats équitables, construits sur des objectifs et des moyens partagés

 

Intégré dans le tissu de la recherche française au travers des Unités mixtes de recherche avec les universités et les établissements publics de recherche, l’IRD est en contact étroit avec la communauté scientifique française.

Cette inscription de l’IRD dans le paysage français de la recherche se poursuit dans le cadre des nouveaux instruments de coordination des acteurs de l’ESR autour de grandes thématiques : les alliances et les investissements d’avenir.

De par ses missions et son expertise, l’Institut a la capacité de mobiliser les communautés scientifiques sur les enjeux de développement durable et d’établir des ponts entre recherche et développement.

Il contribue à l’émergence, au renforcement, à l’autonomisation et à la reconnaissance internationale de communautés scientifiques des pays en développement en conduisant son action selon une démarche résolument partenariale et équitable.

Il soutient la programmation et l’ouverture aux enjeux de développement de ses partenaires en mobilisant ou suscitant la constitution de coalitions d’acteurs.

Il s'attache, dans ses domaines de compétence, à nourrir scientifiquement la réflexion internationale sur les grands enjeux à affronter et en plaidant pour un soutien des institutions concernées aux acteurs de la recherche.

L’IRD agit en défendant et en mettant inlassablement en œuvre ce principe de partenariat scientifique équitable.

 

Le partage des connaissances 

La diffusion de l’information scientifique et le partage des savoirs sont également indissociables de l’activité de recherche, contribuant à renforcer les compétences des communautés scientifiques et à élever la capacité des citoyens à faire face aux multiples défis du développement.

L’IRD s’inscrit très activement à la politique de « Science ouverte » portée par la France et l’Union européenne. Le libre accès à l’information représente un enjeu très important pour l’IRD et ses partenaires des pays en développement. 

A l’IRD, le partage des connaissances passe également par la contribution au dialogue Science / Société, (lien vers « des sciences pour tous ») avec la réalisation d’expositions scientifiques présentées dans le monde entier au travers du réseau culturel français, la participation à des manifestations phares, l’organisation de conférences et débats, d’ateliers d’animation, des projections de films et de dispositifs pédagogiques innovants destinés aux jeunes en France et dans les pays partenaires au Sud. 

Enfin, la diffusion des connaissances auprès de la société civile se fait aussi via la plateforme d’actualité scientifique en ligne IRD Le Mag au travers d’articles, de dossiers, de débats, de décryptages… sur les publications des chercheurs de l’IRD et de leurs partenaires comme sur la science « en train de se faire », au plus près des labos et des terrains.

 

La valorisation et l’innovation 

 

L’IRD collabore avec tous les acteurs publics et privés mobilisés sur des enjeux de développement durable, en inscrivant ses recherches dans un processus de co-création pour faire évoluer les modes de vie ou les modèles économiques.

En ce sens, l’Institut est moteur dans l’innovation ouverte et responsable et dans les écosystèmes d’innovation des pays en développement.

La valorisation de la recherche est au cœur des missions de l’IRD, et prend la forme :
 

  • de stratégies spécifiques de propriété intellectuelle et de valorisation économique de la recherche ;
  • de partenariats publics-privés inscrits dans la durée ;
  • d’outils et de dispositifs qui suscitent, facilitent et accompagnent la co-création ;
  • d’innovations ouvertes et responsables, qui reposent sur l’échange avec ses partenaires.

           

 

Lengguru 201 : Fonds marins de Papouasie occidentale

© Régis Hocdé/IRD

Notre ambition

L’excellence scientifique en partenariat

Dans une cinquantaine de pays de la zone intertropicale - en Afrique, en Amérique latine, en Asie, en Océanie - et Méditerranéenne, l’IRD conduit des recherches en partenariat scientifique équitable avec les institutions de recherche de ces pays.

Une des vocations de l’IRD est le renforcement des capa­cités propres de l’Enseignement supérieur de la recherche (ESR) des pays partenaires.

Elle vise à contribuer, d’une part, aux avancées de la science universelle, d’autre part, à la satisfaction des besoins de leurs populations, en particulier les plus vulnérables.

L’IRD co-produit une science d’excellence et d’exigence, de standard international, qui nourrit décisions et politiques publiques. 

 

Un référent scientifique incontournable sur les grands enjeux du développement

L’IRD porte une démarche originale de recherche, d’expertise, de formation et de partage des savoirs au bénéfice des territoires et pays qui font de la science et de l’innovation un des premiers leviers de leur développement.

Ses priorités s’inscrivent dans la mise en œuvre, associée à une analyse critique, des Objectifs de développement durable (ODD).

Adoptés en septembre 2015 par les Nations unies, les Objectifs de développement durable (ODD) orientent les politiques de développement et de réponse aux grands enjeux liés aux changements globaux, environnementaux, économiques, sociaux et culturels qui affectent la totalité de la planète.

L’IRD inscrit son action dans le cadre des Objectifs de développement durable : cela se traduit notamment dans l’organisation et les objectifs de sa recherche en partenariat avec les pays de la zone intertropicale et méditerranéenne. L’IRD souhaite notamment faire valoir l’importance du questionnement scientifique sur les interactions et/ou compromis entre ODD.

 

  • Il n’y a pas de définition des ODD sans la science, qui permet d’identifier les chaines causales complexes affectant la dynamique du système terre et le bien-être des populations.
  • Il n’y a pas d’atteinte des ODD sans la science qui permet de proposer des solutions et des innovations « gagnant/gagnant » face aux changements globaux.
  • Bien qu’universelles, les priorités de mise en œuvre des ODD diffèrent selon les degrés de développement et les réalités de chaque territoire.
  • Le renforcement des capacités des systèmes d’enseignement supérieur et de recherche des pays en développement, en particulier en Afrique, est indispensable non seulement pour les avancées globales de la connaissance nécessaires aux ODD, mais aussi pour que ces pays disposent d’une expertise propre pour réussir leur mise en œuvre.

 

Les priorités stratégiques de l’IRD s’inscrivent donc dans leur mise en œuvre, associée à une analyse critique.

A cette fin, l’IRD favorise les approches scientifiques interdisciplinaires et intersectorielles autour des ODD comme ses programmes structurants interdisciplinaires en partenariat (PSIP).

 

L’IRD inspirateur de changement : amplifier l’impact de la recherche

Sans solutions appropriées, sans leviers technologiques pertinents, sans innovations ancrées dans les contextes, il ne sera pas possible d’atteindre les ODD.

Pour l’IRD, l’amplification de l’impact de la recherche dans les pays du Sud s’inscrit dans le cadre d’un partenariat scientifique équitable fondé sur la co-construction de programmes et sur l’esprit de responsabilité et de redevabilité envers les pays en développement.

Son engagement dans une démarche d’innovation responsable se nourrit d’une prise de conscience de la contribution de l’Institut à l’émergence de biens « communs » tant il est vrai que les chercheurs de l’Institut participent de longue date à la préservation de « communs » locaux au Sud (forêts, ressources en eaux, sols, points chauds de biodiversité) comme ils créent de nombreux « communs » informationnels.

Innovation responsable et théorie des communs appellent ainsi l’IRD à mobiliser pour ses activités de valorisation une approche favorisant des solutions différenciées en fonction des contextes locaux.

Au plan de la formation, il s’agit également de développer des actions co-construites avec les partenaires, permettant de former les futurs chercheurs sur des thématiques clés pour le développement durable et de contribuer à la création de réseaux d’enseignants chercheurs et de chercheurs au Sud.