Summary

The MOMA (Mathematical Modelling) project aims to sustain and enhance training in mathematical/computer modelling in infectious-disease epidemiology for the sub-region of West Africa.

The recent COVID-19 pandemic has underscored the vital importance of Mathematical Modelling in Epidemiology in the event of a health crisis. In general, this discipline describes the variations of one or several structuring variables in one or more populations. For example, it can be used to predict the dissemination of a pathogen (virus, bacteria, parasite), taking into account certain parameters (social structure, age of the hosts, age of their infections, immunological status, temperature, etc.). Burkina Faso, and the African continent as a whole, must contend with numerous pathogens that cause infectious diseases (COVID-19, dengue fever, malaria, meningitis, tuberculosis, etc.).

The science of population dynamics is situated at the interface between several disciplines including mathematics, statistics, computer science, biology, epidemiology, virology and social sciences. It is a wonderful combination of biology and mathematics. The study of a population’s dynamics is based on a more or less complex system or model . These systems are usually described by Differential Equations. The study of these systems is, among other things, based on the fundamentals of Dynamical Systems and Adaptive Dynamics.

PSF MOMA fits into this context, and comes in response to several demands from institutions. It will provide access to training for approximately fifty students, PhD students, young researchers and doctors from health and research institutes and universities in Africa.

card discover

© IRD

Objectives :

  • Train participants–Master’s students, PhD students and researchers–in the basic concepts of Dynamical Systems and Adaptive Dynamics.
  • Apply these fundamentals in the study of the epidemic and changing dynamics of infectious diseases (e.g., COVID-19, dengue fever, malaria, meningitis, tuberculosis, etc.).

 

Project leaders :

  • IRD (Dr Djidjou-Demasse Ramsès, UMR MIVEGEC)
  • ISRA (Dr Sangaré Ibrahim, CEA ITECH- MTV, Université Nazi Boni)

Sommaire

Le projet MOMA (Modélisations Mathématiques) vise à pérenniser et approfondir la formation en modélisation Mathématiques/Informatique en épidémiologique des maladies infectieuses à l’échelle de la sous-région Ouest-Africaine.

La récente pandémie de COVID-19 a mis en évidence la Modélisation Mathématiques en Épidémiologie comme une discipline incontournable en cas de crise sanitaire. De manière générale, cette discipline s’intéresse à la description des variations au cours du temps d’une ou plusieurs variables structurantes d’une ou plusieurs populations. Elle permet par exemple de prédire la diffusion d’un agent pathogène (virus, bactérie, parasites) en prenant en compte un certains nombres de paramètres (structure sociale, l’âge des hôtes, l’âge de leurs infections, leur statut immunologique, température, etc). Le Burkina Faso, et plus largement l’ensemble du continent Africain, est confronté à de multiples pathogènes à l’origine de maladies infectieuse (COVID-19, dengue, paludisme, méningite, tuberculose, etc...).

La dynamique des populations est une science qui se situe à l'interface de plusieurs disciplines, ex, mathématiques, statistiques, informatique, biologie, épidémiologie, virologie, sciences sociales. C’est une belle alliance de la biologie et des mathématiques. L’étude de la dynamique d’une population repose sur un système ou modèle (complexe ou non). Ces systèmes sont généralement décrits par des Équations Différentiels. L’étude de ces systèmes repose, entre autre, sur les fondamentaux de Système Dynamique et Dynamique Adaptative.

C’est dans ce contexte, et en réponse à plusieurs demandes institutionnelles que le PSF MOMA s’intègre. Il permettra de former une cinquantaine d’étudiants, doctorants, jeunes chercheurs et médecins appartenant aux instituts de santé, de recherche et universitaire du continent africain.

card discover

© IRD

Objectifs :

  • Former les participant(e)s -- master, doctorant(e)s et chercheur(se)s -- aux concepts de bases de Système Dynamique et Dynamique Adaptative.
  • Appliquer ces fondamentaux pour l’étude de la dynamique épidémique et évolutive de maladies infectieuse (ex : COVID-19, dengue, paludisme, méningite, tuberculose, etc).

 

Porteurs :

  • IRD (Dr Djidjou-Demasse Ramsès, UMR MIVEGEC)
  • INSSA (Dr Sangaré Ibrahim, CEA ITECH- MTV, Université Nazi Boni)